Skip to content

Word Exercise

August 12, 2010

Tomorrow is the dreaded Friday the 13th. I’ve had a long, hot week and need a break from the usual. So, let’s try a little word exercise.

I’m going to provide you with several words. You are to take these words and use them ALL in a sentence. Here’s the catch. No passive verbs are allowed. Leave the “is” and “was” in the drawer and push yourself to come up with something on the active side. Leave a comment with your sentence.

You’re words are: clowns, strange, Bruce Willis, trust, Friday.

After completing this exercise, take your new sentence and put it to work. Use it in [Fiction] Friday entry, if you haven’t started it already. Work it in to your current WIP. Or perhaps start a whole new story using it as inspiration. Go wild and have fun!

Andrea loves word games and exercises. Always helps make the inspiration flow.
5 Comments
  1. August 12, 2010 5:18 am

    I’d always associated trust with a slippery slope until that Friday when I came to in a strange house whirling around the dance-floor in the arms of a Bruce Willis look-alike to the beat of a band dressed as clowns.

  2. August 12, 2010 8:31 am

    “This Friday starts the Bruce Willis marathon, Cruisin’ for a Brucin’,” Margorie reads aloud from her morning paper, “sounds strange, but I trust there won’t be any clowns.”

  3. August 12, 2010 11:29 am

    I cheated and used ‘clown’ not ‘clownS’ – rules were made to be broken, right?

    ‘Henry always thought that Bruce Willis looked like a strange clown, never more so than that Friday – the day he stopped trusting his own judgement.’

  4. August 12, 2010 9:11 pm

    I haven’t thought of a sentence but you got me musing on passive verbs and construction (previously I hadn’t really been exposed to that!) It’s very much a habit of mine in writing as passive writing is all the rage in academic writing which is of course what I have done the most of! So I will attempt to challenge this in the weeks to come🙂. So right on the spot here is my attempt at a sentence, I’m sure I’ll probably have some passive stuff in it😉.

    The strange clowns surrounded Bruce Willis; “Trust in Friday the thirteenth” they chanted.

  5. Carole Bone permalink
    August 13, 2010 5:10 am

    Bruce Willis did not trust strange clowns on Friday the 13th……..Yippee ki yay!

Comments are closed.

