Skip to content

[Fiction] Friday #170

August 27, 2010

Fiction Friday
[Fiction] Friday prompt #170 for 27th August, 2010

This week’s prompt is a retro prompt  #70from August 29th, 2008. It requires a little homework, but was a favourite the first time we ran it.

Step 1. Go to a busy locale—a cafe or coffee shop would be easiest. Sit down with a notebook, and make sure you look busy, so people don’t know you’re listening. Now write down random sound bites of  conversations.Try to get at least 10 lines or snippets.

Step 2. Now use all ten in a cohesive scene of dialogue or as dialogue in a story

Step 3.  Leave a list of the lines plucked from real life at the end of the story for people to see.


How Fiction Friday works. It’s easy to do.

  • Check this page for this week’s theme or challenge. Prompts are published each month to give you plenty of notice.
  • Spend at least 5 minutes composing something original based on the theme or challenge.
  • But, remember, no editing. This is to inspire creativity not stifle it.
  • On Friday, simply post what you wrote to your own blog..
  • If you utilise social networking, Tweet your story using our hashtag of #fictionfriday AND post it up onto Facebook.
  • Then come back to Write Anything and leave the link in the comment section below.
  • You may also like to Tweet other peoples links from this site as they are posted using the hashtag #fictionfriday afterwards.
  • To participate further, just go visit some of the other links left by other participants, read what they wrote, and leave a comment. Just be sure that your comment is constructive—this is, after all, a meme to give us all a little writing practice.
  • You may also like to Tweet other peoples links from this site as they are posted – and our hashtag of #fictionfriday

If you’re participating in the Write Anything meme, please leave a link to your entry below. (If you’re not participating, please don’t leave a link. People who aren’t playing will be removed).

Please don’t forget to leave us a comment in addition to leaving a link!

7 Comments
  1. August 27, 2010 12:09 am

    This one was hard for me! I’m still not really comfortable enough with dialogue, and I think I forced some of them in a bit. Oh well!

  2. August 27, 2010 6:17 am

    So hard for me I couldn’t write anything. But I still posted an entry: a story about myself not being able to write a story for the prompt.
    Talk about difficult!

  3. August 27, 2010 6:20 am

    Is it okay that I really enjoyed listening in on conversations? It was tough to bring everything into a cohesive piece, but I loved the exercise.

    John – Can’t wait to read your story. Sounds meta.

  4. August 27, 2010 12:14 pm

    This will be my first Fiction Friday and I can’t wait to get started… looking forward to sharing my entry later in the week, and reading some of the others!

  5. August 30, 2010 8:18 am

    sorry – A heap of “stuff” happened this week and I didn’t get a chance to write anything. However, I did dig up my first draft of the response to this prompt when it was posted years ago…. so here it is….

    http://annieevett.blogspot.com/2008/08/flinched-future.html

    just thought you might be interested

  6. August 30, 2010 2:39 pm

    I was so excited about this one but the timing of my move and the stress of it killed off my creative flow and then I managed to loose all the quotes I had to use. I am now determined to make next week’s FF!!

  7. August 31, 2010 7:16 am

    I’m late, sorry. I wanted to get this done last week but didn’t get a chance and had the busiest weekend ever. Hope it’s worth the wait🙂

Comments are closed.

