Skip to content

No, No, NaNo

October 19, 2010

After much deliberation I have decided that I’ll be skipping NaNoWriMo this year.

It’s started already, but over the next few weeks, it’s likely this blog will be all but taken over with talk of things like Pacing, Preparation, 30, 50,000, Holidays, Time with Family, Time Away from Family, Creativity, Inspiration, Writer’s Block and the magic number: 1667.

And to all of you who will soon be obsessing over the minutia of putting fifty thousand words on the page within thirty days I wish you good luck.

A decade ago, when I first became aware of NaNoWriMo, I thought it was a fad that would either soon fade away or confine itself to a small band of fanatic writers. In the intervening decade it has grown every year. And for a few of those years I’ve even counted myself among the fanatics. It’s rather like running a marathon—for those participating it is all consuming, and for those not participating the participants all seem a little crazy.

So I will not be running this year. But I will be cheering the rest of you on from the crowd.

One Comment
  1. October 23, 2010 11:59 pm

    Thanks for the clarity and reason. It’s the same logic I just applied and decided that I’d be best to chicken out now.

Comments are closed.

