Skip to content

One day more…

October 31, 2010

Here we are. 31st October. To the non-writer, it is Halloween. Heck, even for some writers it is Halloween.

But more than Halloween, this is the last day of freedom before The Month Of Hell. T-minus one day until life is ruled by the numbers 50,000 and 1667. If you’ve done NaNoWriMo, you don’t need any introduction to those magic figures.

This year I’m taking part in NaNo. I’ve done it every year since 2007 (looking back through my files, I’m surprised to find out I actually did take part last year—I thought I’d opted out!) but I only completed the challenge that first year.

This year, my targets are a little different. I’m aiming for 3000 words per day, and to complete 90,000 words (or more) for my project. Because I’m aiming to submit it to a writing contest, and the closing date is in January. I ought to have been working on it over the summer, but events got in the road of that. So I really need to make November work so that I can submit in time.

Good luck to you if you are taking part in NaNoWriMo. If you aren’t, then I hope those of us taking part don’t get too tedious.

But everyone, participant or not, enjoy today. It is an excuse to tell stories, the scarier the better, without the pressure of reaching a magic daily total.

Plus you can gorge on sweets and goodies, and possibly stock up for the coming month.

Paul will be delving into the realms of steampunk, investigating what happens when artificial intelligence takes on Victorian London’s most feared bogeymen…

Comments are closed.

