Skip to content

Favourite posts: Fighting Windmills

December 11, 2010

For the month of December, Write Anything is hosting a retrospective of the posts that have appeared over the past four five years. We hope you enjoy revisiting these posts, as we take stock of where we have come from, and look forward to where we will be heading in the future!

This post first appeared on 28 November 2006.

Fighting Windmills.

That’s about the best description I’ve ever heard for writing.

I’d love to say I came up with the comparison, but a poet friend of mine is the one who mentioned our link to Quixote when she suggested Quixotics as the name for our online writer’s group.

The metaphor within a metaphor is more apt than most of us would like to admit.

We spend our writing lives with visions of writing The Great American Novel, penning the collection of poems that will change the world, winning the Pulitzer… We spend countless hours chasing down those elusive ideas that, we are convinced, will lead to the perfect novel.

We know in our heads that even if we are inspired with the perfect idea it will take ink, sweat and tears to realize it…but in our hearts we all feel that the perfect idea will lead to the novel that will write itself.

We are fools…what other hobby needs a support group?

This is all on my mind as NaNoWriMo wraps up. I had a good month. I wrote four times my personal goal. And I’m exhausted. But I love my story more than ever.

We are Quixote, sitting on our donkey, starring at the windmills…confident we will beat them.

One Comment
  1. December 11, 2010 9:49 pm

    My parents immigrated from Holland, land of windmills, and here I am in the USA, a writer, fighting windmills, spending hours chasing the elusive dream of becoming published author. I am a fool, but a happy one.

Comments are closed.

