Skip to content

[Fiction] Friday Challenge #189

January 7, 2011

Fiction Friday

[Fiction] Friday Challenge #189 for Jan 7th, 2011

Your character wakes in a circus tent. They are wearing baggy pink pants and a poker dot frilled shirt. A midget in a strong man outfit is shaking them awake asking if they are alright.

Now keep writing.



How Fiction Friday works. It’s easy to do.

  • Check this page for this week’s theme or challenge. Prompts are published each month to give you plenty of notice.
  • Spend at least 5 minutes composing something original based on the theme or challenge. (and keep writing…)
  • But, remember, no editing. This is to inspire creativity not stifle it.
  • On Friday, simply post what you wrote to your own blog..
  • If you utilise social networking, Tweet your story using our hashtag of #fictionfriday AND post it up onto Facebook.
  • Then come back to Write Anything and leave the link in the comment section below.
  • You may also like to Tweet other peoples links from this site as they are posted using the hashtag #fictionfriday afterwards.
  • To participate further, just go visit some of the other links left by other participants, read what they wrote, and leave a comment. Just be sure that your comment is constructive—this is, after all, a meme to give us all a little writing practice.
  • You may also like to Tweet other peoples links from this site as they are posted – and our hashtag of #fictionfriday

If you’re participating in the Write Anything meme, please leave a link to your entry below. (If you’re not participating, please don’t leave a link. People who aren’t playing will be removed).

Please don’t forget to leave us a comment in addition to leaving a link!

10 Comments
  1. Laura Rachel Fox permalink
    January 7, 2011 8:31 am

    Well I suppose I asked for it. I’m going to attempt this when I’m fully awake, although it looks as if the prompt lends itself to fuzzy-minded writing.

  2. January 7, 2011 8:34 am

    I’ve not taken part in this for so long. I’ve missed it so much. Great prompt, but I wasn’t able to get a whole story from it!

  3. January 7, 2011 11:55 am

    I couldn’t get a whole story from it either. I think I write too slow. But it got my creative juices moving.

  4. January 7, 2011 11:55 am

    Oops – here’s the link – http://writealittle.wordpress.com/2011/01/07/12/

  5. January 7, 2011 4:05 pm

    This is my first week doing this, the result: http://ellierosemckee101.blogspot.com/2011/01/fiction-friday-week-1.html

  6. January 7, 2011 7:20 pm

    welcome everyone… I’d better kick my creative bits along then huh?

  7. January 7, 2011 9:47 pm

    I liked my beginning, but it seemed like I started forcing stuff, so I just kind of ended it.

    http://sappychick.wordpress.com/2011/01/07/fiction-friday-2011-week-1/

  8. January 21, 2011 5:17 pm

    Late to the party, of course, but thought I’d leave a reply anyway.

    http://nearlywriting.wordpress.com/2011/01/21/fiction-friday-189/

Comments are closed.

