Skip to content

Introducing…

February 7, 2011

Image © 2009 Julia Anderson

In early 2007 I was walking along Piccadilly with my wife. We were returning home from work and I confessed that I didn’t believe I would return to my legal studies. Nor that I wanted to continue a career in law. In fact, I wanted to be a writer.

Rather than laugh, or try to talk me out of it, she said I had to follow my dreams.

Four years on and I find myself the co-founder of an indie publishing house, and managing editor of Write Anything. Somehow, I don’t know how, but I’ve managed to fool a lot of people into thinking I know what I’m talking about! Still, I’ll not complain about it, it’s rather flattering. Although I suspect I may need to actually start doing some work.

For those who don’t know me, I’m a Scottish writer living in London. Married, with one gecko and one old typewriter, I enjoy reading a wide range of fiction, but I mainly write urban fantasy, with a recent diversion into steampunk.

My main influences are HP Lovecraft, Edgar Allan Poe, Arthur Conan Doyle and recently Fyodor Dostoevsky and Sergei Lukyanenko.

For the past three years I was the Sunday columnist for Write Anything. Now that I’m managing editor I intend to step back a little and let others speak, but before you all breathe a huge sigh of relief that, at long last, I’m going to shut up, I have some bad news. You’ll still hear from me often. I am steering Write Anything towards a magazine format rather than simply a blog, and as such you’ll find a monthly editorial, as well as a final message at the end of the month.

This week we (re)introduce the rest of the editorial team, all of whom are veterans of Write Anything: Jodi Cleghorn, Annie Evett, and Dale Challener Roe. Then from Saturday you can meet our new team of writers.

Now it really is time for me to sit back and let the rest of the team speak.

Welcome to a bigger, brighter, revitalised Write Anything.

6 Comments
  1. February 7, 2011 1:38 am

    Hi Paul,
    Nice to meet you! I first heard (or read) your name on one of Jodi Cleghorn’s blogs or sites. I then became aware of emergent publishing and the great books you guys have already published.

    You are doing amazing stuff and I’m so glad you decided, that day in 2007, not to continue with your legal studies!

    It is great to see such passionate and talented people following their dreams.

    Kudos to you,
    Monica

  2. February 7, 2011 7:35 am

    Awesome ‘first post’… Bring on the new players!

  3. February 7, 2011 11:12 pm

    Is it just me or has there been new life breathed into WA? I can already tell…

  4. February 8, 2011 4:24 am

    Ben: There’s been some serious CPR going on behind the scenes… so yes, you could say that new life has been breathed in here. I for one am so excited and can’t wait for my pod of writers to have their maiden posts here.

    Though best we don’t smash champagne bottles on the computer screens.

    Paul: You’ve always got awesome and pertinent things to say. You ever drag up that ‘I’ve got nothing to say’ argument and I’m going to drag out the inspiring Vision Statement you wrote. ‘Nuff said.

  5. February 8, 2011 10:57 am

    Thank heaven for commas otherwise you might have been married with…!!!
    Seriously though, found this interesting and looking forward to more.

  6. February 8, 2011 2:26 pm

    @ Paul – ha, I’m glad someone other than my wife noticed that one – she did say “the gecko yes, but I draw the line at considering the typewriter a child”.

    I don’t know, don’t all writers treat the tools of their trade as loving offspring?

    @ Jodi – in moments of self-doubt you have permission to beat me about the head with the vision statement!

    @ Ben – the enthusiasm of our new writers for the project is contagious. Either that or writing is the new zombie plague…

    @ Annie – I’m looking forward to hearing from the new roster too. Not so much a breath of fresh air, more like a gale force wind!

    @ Mon – my name gets around thanks to Jodi! I’m quite glad too – I would have been a very mediocre legal academic, no matter what my supervisor thought. Hopefully I can be a better than average writer/editor/publisher!

Comments are closed.

