Skip to content

Post Scriptum – February 2011

February 28, 2011

There is an especially poignant moment at each annual Academy Awards ceremony, when the assembled artists pause to pay their respects to all those involved in the film industry who have passed away in the previous year. In the midst of a celebration of the new, there is a moment of pause to look back at what has been, to acknowledge the debt owed to the past and those who went before, and perhaps a realisation that this too will come to those being lauded that night.

February is the shortest month, but this February appears to have simply flown by. It is not even a month since we posted our Vision Statement for Write Anything, and here we are at the end of our first month. All of our writers have been introduced, and I am delighted to see the flurries of activity in the comments, as acquaintances are made, questions asked, answers sought. There is a palpable sense of camaraderie amongst the writers, and community amongst the readership, both things we hoped to create.

And now at the end of the month I find myself looking back on what has been. Amongst the roster of new faces, I can’t help but remember the faces from the past, the writers who have stepped back from being regular columnists. Their voices are missed, but there are always new voices. I’m delighted to note how many of our new writers were once themselves commenters and readers on the site. For those reading now, keep that in mind. If you have an idea for a guest column, get in touch. It might lead to a permanent spot.

And now, just as the Oscars move on from remembering the past to honouring the future, so too will I. You have now met all of our new writers, and the time for handshaking and introductions has passed. In March they all stand on their own feet and we truly get to hear them for the first time, as Write Anything looks at Inspirations and Influences.

I’ll have more to say about that tomorrow. For today, a very warm welcome to our new writers, our new readers, and a hearty welcome back to those who have always been here.

4 Comments
  1. February 28, 2011 6:23 am

    Bravo and congratulations on a stellar month… a new beginning, bigger and better (with perhaps fewer hassles than we may have feared) than we may have envisaged.

    I know for one, I’m thrilled with the pod of writers I have and know there will be much learning, inspiration and influence to be held just bewteen the five of us… before I factor in the other pods of writers.

    Thank you Paul for your vision and passion. Onward and upward.

  2. February 28, 2011 9:57 pm

    February was lots of fun, I enjoyed introducing myself as well as meeting all the new faces (and hearing from some ones I already knew)

  3. March 1, 2011 6:09 pm

    I agree! Looking forward to being part of this wild ride!

  4. March 5, 2011 9:43 am

    I can’t remember how I came across it but I do remember my first visit to Write Anything. I found the Fiction Friday prompt and started writing. Little did I realise how that would change things for me. And now to imagine I’m part of the writing team…!

Comments are closed.

