Skip to content

An appeal for writers!

March 23, 2011

Firstly, an apology if things have been a little screwy around here–it seems WordPress has been offline, which meant we’ve been sitting around the editorial office, twiddling our thumbs and playing solitaire while waiting for the hamsters to get back on their wheels and power the WordPress Dashboard!

Now that everything seems to be working again, I’d like to get down from my ivory editorial tower and do a little begging. We need fresh blood. Not that we’ve become vampires, or shambling, braindead zombies–I’ve had my morning coffee, so no danger of that–but as a site we need more writers.

There are about 16 writers on the site. That’s not enough to post daily to the site. And certainly not enough for when we hope to be putting out two posts per day! We’re always in need of guest posts to help complete our monthly output, or simply to cover a writer in the event of an emergency.

So, dear readers–if you would like to see your words on here, rather than simply reading the work of others, why not submit a guest post? You can either contact me directly (contact details on the About page) or you can submit via our Submishmash page (preferred option).

“But Paul, I’m not content with being a guest writer–I want a shot at the big time. I’m ready man, make me a regular writer!” Well Rookie, I’ve got good news for you. As well as guest posts, we’re also on the lookout for new regular writers. We understand that life happens, and that commitments elsewhere mean that some writers may have to stand down. That’s why we only ask for six months from you, after which you can stay for another six month tour of duty, or take a break. Right now we need at least two regular writers urgently, and in a few months it is possible we’ll need some more, depending on how many of our writers I manage to drive away decide they want a short break.

If you want to submit a one-off article, head over to Submishmash. If you want to do more, drop me a line to talk about a regular spot. And if there are any questions, stick them in the comments.

Now stop reading and get back to writing!

4 Comments
  1. March 23, 2011 11:15 am

    Oh my goodness, I want to do this so bad but I’m having trouble keeping my life straight as it is! I hate passing up potentially great opportunities. I will definitely keep guest posting in mind (to fill up your inbox with articles you can delete if for no other reason!). Grr, I hate conflicts. I will share this opportunity with other writer friends of mine.

  2. March 23, 2011 5:22 pm

    Great opportunity Paul – I am spending most of my time working on my manuscript at present, but will definetely send in a couple more guest post submissions!
    Just one question – how often do you need regular writers to write posts?
    cheers,
    Mon

  3. March 24, 2011 7:20 am

    Mon – Once a month is the commitment – with the understanding it is for six months – with the opportunity for that to be extended.

  4. Kitty Taylor permalink
    March 25, 2011 1:38 pm

    I don’t have a lot of time at the present, what with university and working on a manuscript or two of my own, but I’ll definitely give guest posting a thought! I often have a few things to say, but have never tried to say them before.😄

Comments are closed.

