Skip to content

Is All Writing Real?

August 5, 2008

Several of the recent posts on this blog (and the comments that go along with them) have touched on the topic of real writing. There is a maxim among authors that a writer writes. The message being that the simple act of writing makes one a writer.

While this saying is true in spirit, it glosses over one unfortunate fact: Not all writing is real writing.

I’m making a distinction here between casual writing and formal writing. By casual writing I mean writing that makes no pretenses of proper grammar or editing. Or writing that relies on an overtly casual tone for it’s style. Blogs that read like someone’s diary would certainly fall into this category, as would diaries, warm-up pages and plenty of other kinds of writing.

Why the distinction? While it’s true than any form of regular writing will help someone get into the habit of writing regularly, it is only the attention to detail—every detail—that gives you the practice to improve your writing.

Even for a serious writer, casual writing offers myriad advantages. But anyone who believes that updating a personal, casual, blog twice each day will lead inexorably to the Great American Novel is deluding themselves.

The only way to get better at something is to push yourself, to expand your knowledge and abilities. Regarding writing, the best ways to do this are through practice, experimentation, editing and inviting criticism. And as Janie correctly pointed out yesterday, blogs don’t invite real criticism.

So if your goal is to write the Great American Novel, am I suggesting you should scrap your blog? Of course not. When building a house, a hammer is an important tool. It’s just not the only tool required.

4 Comments
  1. August 5, 2008 4:55 pm

    Hello Everyone,
    I can’t Thank You enough for sharing your insightful words of wisdom with all of us today Dale, but you have got me screaming, “Encore! Encore! I want more; I want to hear more, about: What is real Writing? and how to becoming a real writer!”
     
    Enjoy Life!

  2. August 5, 2008 6:23 pm

    Really enjoying the last couple of blog posts here. Commendations to the bloggers because I don’t know if it’s intentional, but there seems to be a kind of relationship to each others posts, like they’re connected and feeding off each other rather than each writer writing their own stand alone posts.

    Dale, you make a good point. Blogging is so much easier than real writing it seems, because there seems to be less pressure to adhere to a style. My style feels more casual and organic compared to when I’m writing fiction because really it’s just like talking…

  3. August 5, 2008 6:34 pm

    On behalf of the WA bloggers, thanks Benjamin.

    I don’t think these posts are feeding off each other on purpose – I think these bloggers have been around so long (going on THREE YEARS FOR SOME!) that they just naturally complement each other.

    I have to second Benjamin’s praise though – nice job, guys. It’s really interesting to hear your different takes/views on the same/similar subject.

    Keep up the good work!

  4. August 7, 2008 6:38 am

    I reading through these posts in reverse chronological order (because I have a moment to finally catch up on all the posts here).

    There is a difference between real writing and just casual writing. I’d never suggest for a moment that the crap that spews out of my pen in my morning pages is real writing … it is the act of (physically) writing, of putting down thoughts. I dont pay attention to detail as you say Dale – my spelling can be off, grammar (what grammar), most of it is probably gobblydogook but that’s not the point of the exercise. It’s a mediative practise … and something that I do everyday so if I don’t make it to writing anything ‘proper’ I know that I wrote something.

    I come at my blog as a serious writer. While there is the occassional casual posting, I try to make each blog post worthy and use it as a vehicle to continue to hone my writing skills … and have a chance to share them with the world. But I am also aware that too much blog leaves no time for fiction writing … there’s that terrible word again – balance!

    While I’m enjoying using my hammer and building my foundations strong and firm – I’m dreaming of the crystal tower that will be built on it one day.

Comments are closed.