Skip to content

[Fiction] Friday #106

May 29, 2009

Fiction Friday

[Fiction] Friday Challenge for May 29th, 2009:

Choose one of the following (or both!)

Put this into your story – “Time out! Time out! We can call that, right?”

OR: write a poem from this image – A fallen star.


How Fiction Friday works
Fiction Friday is easy to do.

  • Every Thursday, just check this page for this week’s theme or challenge.
  • Spend at least 5 minutes composing something original based on the theme or challenge.
  • But, remember, no editing. This is to inspire creativity not stifle it.
  • On Friday, simply post what you wrote to your own blog.
  • Then come back to Write Anything and leave the link in the comment section below.

If you’re participating in the Write Anything meme, please leave a link to your entry in the box below. (If you’re not participating, please don’t leave a link. People who aren’t playing will be removed). Please don’t forget to leave us a comment in addition to leaving a link!

[Fiction] Friday Participants

1. Annie Evett
2. William
3. James Ashelford
4. Uncle Tee
5. Jodi Cleghorn
6. M. D. Benoit
7. Beatriz Kim

Powered by… Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets.

If you’d like to participate further, just go visit some of the other links left by other participants, read what they wrote, and leave a comment. Just be sure that your comment is constructive—this is, after all, a meme to give us all a little writing practice.

Want more information? Visit the Fiction Friday page.

Technorati tags: ,


LAST CHANCE to submit a blog post (new or from archives) to the Blogger’s Best Carnival for May!

What is the Blogger’s Best Carnival? It’s a chance to showcase the posts that you’re most proud of, to share the best of YOU with the rest of the blog-o-sphere.

It’s also a chance to find, and keep track of, some really GREAT bloggers.

5 Comments
  1. jamesashelford permalink
    May 29, 2009 3:56 am

    Thanks for another stimulating challenge, Fiction Friday always throws out some interesting ideas.

  2. May 29, 2009 8:56 am

    After an intial cringe at the idea of having to write about sport … I got a flash igniting a few ideas I had been carrying around for ages … and got to hold my promise to some friends I would write about roller derby.

    James – your story rocks!

  3. May 29, 2009 9:44 am

    Thiss was fun to write, although I’m so not into sports that I twisted it a bit. So here’s mine: http://mdbenoit.com/blog/2009/05/29/fiction-fridaytime-out/

  4. May 29, 2009 6:36 pm

    This was very scary for me. I’m not used to showing the first draft to anyone. However, doing the poetry instead of the story seemed less scary because I have lower expectations of myself.

    Thank you for hosting this task. Though I was scared at first, I had a lot of fun. It definitely got my creative juices flowing.

    http://thepurpleidealist.blogspot.com/2009/05/fiction-friday.html

  5. May 29, 2009 11:29 pm

    Ha ha – I love this! I love the fact we are all so different in our perceptions and many immediately saw the prompt as sports orientated. I hadn’t even though of that till I saw some of your comments. Time Out for me is two things – a teaching tool for withdrawal of disruptive students – many schools I worked in had time out rooms or spaces – and a dramatic tool for characterization derolling …its an acting thing.. I went with the spirit of the latter for my story, naming a specific ‘mysterious’ ritual or understanding.

    http://annieevett.blogspot.com/2009/05/power-of-recognition.html

    oh and I do read everyones – I often have problems posting my comments on blogs – especially Williams -which really frustrated me as I like to give constructive feedback.

Comments are closed.