Skip to content

Just Say No to Being Rude

March 25, 2010

Most writers don’t like receiving form rejections. However, such type of rejections are sometimes necessary. Magazine editors are for the most part flooded with submissions. To respond to each one with some sort of in-depth critique, writers would be force to wait twice or even three times as long as they would for a form rejection.

What I found a bit astonishing is the few who choose to respond to those rejections with a derogatory remarks towards the editor(s). You wouldn’t walk up to your boss and proceed to sound off for the sole reason of them asking you to do your job. Why take your frustrations out on the people who spend hours, days even trying to sort through hundreds or sometimes thousands of submissions? It’s not an easy job to do. By sharing your grievances, you prove how much of an unprofessional you really are.

Personal rejections are not necessarily better than form. Yes, editors are providing feedback as to why they believe your story did or didn’t work. In the end, it’s merely their opinion. Your story may not be right for magazine but fits perfectly for another. Writers should be grateful to receive the dreaded form rejection. Some markets don’t send rejections at all.

Writing is a business. You’re selling your work and yourself. Expressing your frustrations to an editor for something mundane as a form rejection reflects bad on your character. Just say no to being rude.

Andrea has her share of form rejections, all with their own set of frustrations attached to them, but never relayed any of them to an editor. Was a bit shock others do.
One Comment
  1. March 24, 2010 9:56 pm

    I agree in part Andrea.

    Certainly, if the rejection letter reflects – even in part – to the work which was submitted – then the writer needs to ‘suck it up’ . ‘take it on the chin’ and take on board the information they have been sent. ….. and Absolutely – A writer submitting to one magazine or publishing house may be better served if they submitted elsewhere – it is after all people and their opinions which drive the buying power attached to these places.

    After going to a workshop run by three editors from major publishing house, I too would never bad mouth them – they work hard and for little gratitude. After sifting though the multitude of manuscript they are sent, I am certain they develop a sense to pick the gold from the rest of the submissions.

    However, I get cross when I either – don’t get even an acknowledgement for the submission or get a form letter which says nothing at all – not even my name. Though I wouldn’t make my thoughts public, I would have a private pity party and dream up all the ways I’d like to see their office explode….and yes – I own the fact my ego is bigger than my bank balance… but like you – I would never contact an editor and let them know how unhappy I was. Eventhough they have a tough job on their hands, I think some politeness and professionality on both sides of the fence would help.

Comments are closed.