Skip to content

[Fiction] Friday #156

May 21, 2010

Fiction Friday

[Fiction] Friday Challenge #156 for May 21, 2010

A boy and his father awaken early to watch the sunrise from their mountain campsite, but they begin to panic when the sky remains dark long into the afternoon.


How Fiction Friday works

Fiction Friday is easy to do.

  • Check this page for this week’s theme or challenge. Prompts are published each month to give you plenty of notice.
  • Spend at least 5 minutes composing something original based on the theme or challenge.
  • But, remember, no editing. This is to inspire creativity not stifle it.
  • On Friday, simply post what you wrote to your own blog.
  • Then come back to Write Anything and leave the link in the comment section below.

If you’re participating in the Write Anything meme, please leave a link to your entry below. (If you’re not participating, please don’t leave a link. People who aren’t playing will be removed). Please don’t forget to leave us a comment in addition to leaving a link!

You might also like to Tweet links from this site as they are posted – and don’t forget to use our hashtag of #fictionfriday

[Fiction] Friday Participants

1. Walt
2. John Pender
3. Eileen Andrews
4. Chris Chartrand
5. Uncle Tee
6. NewToWritingGirl
7. Adam Byatt
8. Terry Haferkamp
9. Shelli
10. Jodi Cleghorn
11. Annie

Powered by… Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets.

If you’d like to participate further, just go visit some of the other links left by other participants, read what they wrote, and leave a comment. Just be sure that your comment is constructive—this is, after all, a meme to give us all a little writing practice.

Want more information? Visit the Fiction Friday page.

Technorati tags: ,

8 Comments
  1. May 21, 2010 5:04 am

    This weeks prompt was both good and bad. Good because I had loads of ideas to explore, all of which were fun and exciting for me. Bad because I couldn’t pick one without wanting to meld in other ideas. In the end I opted to walk away from everything I came up with and discovery write the story from beginning to end.

  2. May 21, 2010 7:43 am

    I thought this prompt had a Sci-Fi or fantasy feel to it, so I was worried when I first started as I don’t read or write any. But as I got going, I got an idea that would fit in with my style. Hope you like it.

  3. May 21, 2010 7:46 am

    I took a looser interpretation of the prompt and had the day grow dark as opposed to already being dark as the prompt suggested. I’m thinking this week’s story may be the beginning of a new bi-weekly serial for young adults. Any comments would be appreciated. Thanks for reading and enjoy.

  4. adampb permalink
    May 21, 2010 9:38 am

    Had a go this week, but will say that it is far from my best effort. I did come up with an idea that I want to explore in another piece of writing, so something good has come out of this little effort. Read and enjoy.

  5. May 21, 2010 11:31 am

    This was so much fun. I had to do a little research with this but remember, it is fiction based on some truth. Or is it?
    http://terryhaferkamp.squarespace.com/the-missing-day/

  6. May 21, 2010 12:01 pm

    just something done for the sake of doing!:o

  7. May 22, 2010 7:40 am

    I took a looser approach to the timing… and again a bit of sci-fi from me. All comments appreciated.

  8. May 24, 2010 10:53 am

    Okay, so I know it’s Monday, but can’t help sharing my attempt: http://rachelspillowbook.blogspot.com/2010/05/fiction-friday-on-monday.html

Comments are closed.