Skip to content

National Novel Writing Month!

October 25, 2008
by

Writing a novel is not my purpose for trying to learn how to express myself and my thoughts into words by writing. I would love to consider myself a writer, but every time I try and call myself a writer I get writer’s block. So I have come up with this to say, “I consider myself a writer only by default: Because I am writing this and you are reading it, then I guess that makes me a writer.” Today will be the 701st day in a row that I have written something every day in my Windows Live Spaces site.

Although I thoroughly enjoy writing every day I have no desire at this time to write a novel. There are times when it is difficult for me to have something to say but I write anyway. The writers here at the Write Anything site have inspired me on many occasions with their articles and posts for me to do some writing of my own. For their inspiration I am sincerely grateful. I have written many Fiction Friday entries from the writing prompts that this sight provides. Yet just getting a 250 word count is a struggle for me to write on some days.

I will not be participating in the National Novel Writing Month this year because I don’t have the desire to write a novel or to writing 2,000 words per day needed to meet the challenge. If I should change my mind in the future and want to try my hand at writing a novel I wanted to keep in mind these steps from Karen to writing a novel:

National Novel Writing Month Workshop

I am posting this in my Windows Live Space site for future reference, and I’m also posting this at the Write Anything site for Say It On Saturday! I don’t think that I have missed posting something when they have had this feature available and I didn’t want to miss out on it today either. Are you going to be participating in the National Novel Writing Month on November 1, 2008? Are you going to join me today on Say It On Saturday?

Thanks for Listening,

       Jeff

My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

4 Comments
  1. lissa permalink
    October 25, 2008 1:53 pm

    Jeff, thanks for writing this, you inspired me to respond with my own Say it Saturday,

    and I think you’ve accomplished a lot just by writing something every day

    and I like your statement: “I consider myself a writer only by default: Because I am writing this and you are reading it, then I guess that makes me a writer.”

    -it’s so true, those words, who’s to say who’s a writer and who’s not?

  2. October 25, 2008 1:58 pm

    oops, don’t know what happen, I just a comment while log into wordpress but it seem to have gotten an error

    anyway here’s what I left:

    thanks Jeff, you have inspired me to write a piece for Say it Saturday. I like your statement – “I consider myself a writer only by default: Because I am writing this and you are reading it, then I guess that makes me a writer.”

    and it is true in a way, anyone who writes and gets read is a writer, but whose to say anyway?

  3. October 26, 2008 9:58 am

    Jeff, You are a writer. Just accept it. You don’t have to be James Patterson or Carl Hiaasen, or F. Scott. You just have to write regularly, and you do that.

    I’m participating this year in Nanowrimo, and I have a plan of attack for it too. I don’t want to fail at it, as I did in ’04. And failure is a tricky word anyway. I accomplished a lot of novel plotting that year, just not novel writing! 🙂

    Good luck, Writer.
    KJ
    http://interminablewriter.com

  4. October 27, 2008 12:13 pm

    Hello Everyone,
    Thank You both for the encouraging comments! I just don’t know what to say other than you have both inspired me today and I had to write about your comments to me in my post today titled A Menagerie of Thoughts on Monday!
      Lisa, I really appreciate you joining me on Say It On Saturday because it’s always encouraging hearing what other people have to say, and again I Thank You!
      K J, Your encouragement is also greatly appreciated and I Thank You for calling me a writer! I just can’t let my conscious mind hear such things because then I have to live up to the pressure of being thought of as a writer.
      You are both too kind and have left me at a loss for words!
      Enjoy Life!

Comments are closed.